New Jersey DWI Overview
DUI LAWYER IN NEWARK
As a DUI lawyer in New Jersey I have been able to get drunken driving charges reduced or dismissed, by reviewing the evidence and challenging its validity. You may be under the impression that police reports and chemical testing results are solid proof of guilt, but nothing could be farther from the truth.
It is my job as a DUI lawyer in Newark, to investigate and assess every element of the arrest and the evidence that is being utilized to explain it.
- I will make certain that the police had probable cause to make the roadside stop
- Ensure that law enforcement officials asked you about, and took into consideration any physical infirmities or limitations that might affect your ability to properly perform standard field tests for sobriety
- If I am your DUI lawyer in New Jersey, I can investigate to determine if the police graded your field test correctly
- I will make sure that law enforcement officials performed your chemical Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) testing within a reasonable time to ensure that your results accurately reflected the BAC percentage you had at the time you were actually operating your vehicle.
- My investigation will determine if the police recited your Miranda Rights at the time of your arrest and treated you with dignity and respect.
Do you need a DUI lawyer in Newark? You or a loved one or friend should call today. I can request and review all of the evidence that law enforcement officials are utilizing to support the arrest and charges made against you. The penalties for a first time DWI offense are steep:
- Fines from $250.00 to $400.00
- Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee of $230.00
- State of New Jersey Drunk Driving Fund fee of $100.00
- Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee of $100.00
- A DUI lawyer in New Jersey can work to avoid jail time, which could be up to 30 days
- A Department of Motor Vehicles annual surcharge of $1,000.00 to be paid for three years following a DWI conviction
- Neighborhood Services Fund fee of $75.00
- Mandatory completion of a 12-48 hour IDRC program
- This information is based upon a conviction of drunken driving with a BAC greater than 0.08% but less than 0.10%
Speak with a DUI lawyer in New Jersey as quickly as you can, following your drunken driving arrest. Law enforcement agents are required to perform their duties within the state and Constitutional guidelines of due process, and any evidence that they gather must also be obtained in accordance with these decrees. Falsified reports and failures to adhere to procedures are not unheard of – and they may not stand up to my aggressive, meticulous legal analysis. Don’t give up without a fight. Call me today!
Do You Need a DWI Lawyer?
As your New Jersey drunk driving attorney, I can prepare a solid and aggressive defense that contests the DWI evidence that the police are bringing against you. Drinking and driving charges are some of the most damaging allegations to face – both legally and socially. Don’t face them alone. Call me now.
In my time as a New Jersey drunk driving attorney, I have seen that individuals convicted on DUI offenses can face consequences that extend far beyond the penalties of the courts. For instance, a suspension of driving privileges can cost commercial bus, limo and taxi drivers their jobs. And the State of New Jersey is serious about collecting its DUI fines and fees.
As a New Jersey drunk driving attorney, I can advise you that a failure to pay DWI surcharges to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will result in:
- An indefinite suspension of you driving privileges
- Legal actions by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission to implement a garnishment of your wages or secure a lien against your property until such surcharges are paid in full.
If I am your New Jersey drunk driving attorney, I can work to avoid a DUI conviction, because the consequences of a conviction are harsh. First time offenders who are found guilty of driving while intoxicated will face the following, if their BAC percentage was discovered to be greater than 0.08 but less than 0.10:
- A fine that ranges anywhere from $250.00 to $400.00
- A $230.00 imposed fee to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- A $100.00 imposed fee to the State of New Jersey Drunk Driving Fund
- A $100.00 imposed fee to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF)
- A $1,000.00 surcharge to the New Jersey DMV for 3 consecutive years following a conviction on DUI charges. The total surcharge is $3,000.00 paid over a 3 year period.
- A $75.00 imposed fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund
- 30 Days of incarceration
- Completion of a 12 to 48-hour IDRC program
Contact my firm for a New Jersey drunk driving attorney. A conviction or guilty plea can be life changing. Call or stop by my office today for a free evaluation of the details of your case.
Consult with a New Jersey drunk driving attorney before you make any decision to enter a plea before the courts. I personally review every shred of evidence being used against you to determine whether or not law enforcement officials performed their duties within the guidelines of the state and Constitutional laws pertaining to due process. To ensure that your rights were respected and observed, I always assess:
- Whether or not there was sufficient probable cause to pull over your vehicle
- Whether or not the police conducted and graded your field test appropriately
- Whether or not your BAC levels were tested in a timely manner
- Whether or not the arresting officer recited or read your Miranda Rights to you.
Call for a free consultation with a New Jersey drunk driving attorney. Don’t face the courts on your own.